We have all seen the commercials about the dangers of talking on your cell phone while driving. We all know that driving with any kind of distraction can lead to an accident, and therefore puts you and other drivers at risk. With technology continuing to advance, we’ve grown attached to our mobile phones, and rely on them for just about everything. That’s why even when we know it’s a bad idea, some of us still use our cell phones while we operate a motor vehicle.
Driving while using a cell phone – whether for texting, checking social media, or talking – is one of the most common New Jersey municipal court violations. Although this may seem like a norm, distracted driving is extremely dangerous— being held responsible for over one million crashes in the state of New Jersey alone. Yet despite these grave statistics, many individuals who are accused of this traffic violation are surprised by the costly penalties. At The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. we understand that everyone makes mistakes, and that is why we do everything in our power to help.
Why Is New Jersey So Strict with Cell Phones?
New Jersey has taken a firm stance on prohibiting the use of cell phones while driving. Compared to other states, New Jersey has some of the strictest laws when it comes to the use of a mobile phone while operating a motor vehicle. According to a recent study, out of approximately 3 million motor vehicle accidents throughout the state of New Jersey between 2004 and 2013, nearly one half – approximately 1.4 million involved distracted drivers. That is why police officers are on the lookout every day for drivers with their phones in their hands. If an officer sees you using a cell phone while driving in New Jersey, you will be stopped, and you will be ticketed.
Are there Fines, Points, or Suspensions Associated with My Ticket?
Most people disregard cell phone tickets, and simply pay the fines, thinking that nothing bad will happen as a result of this ticket. They are wrong. As of 2014, the State of New Jersey has increased its fines for talking or texting on a handheld device while driving. First offenders must pay a fine of at least $200, while second offenders pay double that.
Most people don’t think that there are any points or suspensions affiliated with talking or texting on a handheld device while driving. What they don’t know is that, in addition to fines upward of $600, third or subsequent violations of operating a vehicle while using a cellphone will lead to points on your license and can Suspend Your Driving Privileges.
If you have received at least three cell phone tickets within ten years of each other, you will be accessed three points on your license. In addition, a judge can suspend your license for ninety days at their own discretion.
Why Do I Need A Lawyer?
The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. have successfully defended clients facing points and suspensions for talking or texting on a handheld device while driving throughout the entire state of New Jersey. Our Traffic Ticket Lawyers have the skills and legal expertise to help fight to keep the points off, and your license in your wallet. Throughout the State of New Jersey, the Attorneys at The Law Office of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. have successfully assisted clients in walking away from cell phone tickets with no points and no suspensions. In some circumstances, our lawyers have been able to successfully dismiss New Jersey cell phone tickets.
Remember, driving while distracted is a dangerous thing. However, as safe as we all try to be, there are times where we have to answer our calls or look down at our phones. At The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. we understand that everyone makes mistakes, and that is why we do everything in our power to help. So if you’ve been issued a ticket for using a cell phone while driving, call today for a free consultation at 609-656-0909.
This content was written on behalf of Greg Prosmushkin.