Do I Really Need a Lawyer for my Car Accident?
Most car accidents occur because of negligence by one or more drivers involved. Negligence is the failure to exercise due care under the circumstances. If you have been involved in a car accident, it is likely because one or more drivers did not exercise due care, whatever those circumstances may be.
It is already enough for a person to deal with the hassle of a car accident, even without the additional difficulties of fighting the insurance company for compensation for your injuries!
If you or a loved one has been involved in a Car Accident and were injured, you may be entitled to recover fair compensation for your losses. If you have any questions about your eligibility, do not hesitate to Contact Greg Prosmushkin, P.C., for a Free Consultation.
New Jersey is a commuter state. With so many drivers on the road, the likelihood of you or a loved one being involved in a car accident is high. By law, all vehicles registered in the state of New Jersey are required to have insurance.
There are different types of insurance that aim to protect drivers.
- The first, property damage liability insurance, pays other drivers for property damage resulting from a car accident that you caused.
- The second, Personal Injury protection insurance, pays medical bills for you or others insured under your policy if a car accident results in bodily injury.
- The third, bodily injury liability, provides coverage for claims and lawsuits brought on by an accident that you have caused.
- The fourth and final type, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, protects drivers from damages resulting from accidents with drivers driving without proper insurance coverage.
Also, New Jersey allows drivers with Medicaid recipients with hospitalization on their health insurance to carry Special Automobile Policies, a.k.a. Dollar Day insurance.
This is no insurance at all, and if you are injured by the negligence of a person with this program, you have no insurance from which to receive compensation. If struck by a dollar-a-day insured driver, you may only pursue an Uninsured Motorist Claim or a PLIGA claim if you are in a car without insurance.
New Jersey is also important as a “No Fault” insurance jurisdiction. The “No Fault” insurance system requires that your insurer provide coverage for your economic losses and medical bills, even if another driver was at fault.
As simple as this may sound, insurance companies create limitations and restrictions so that they do not have to pay you the coverage that you may deserve.
An insurer will not automatically pay you if you or a loved one has been involved in a car accident. That is where we come in. The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. are experienced in navigating the muddy waters of “No Fault” insurance claims and in getting insured drivers the maximum benefits of their insurance coverage.
A basic insurance policy is the minimum insurance a driver can have in New Jersey. However, it is not recommended because it provides very little insurance coverage and limited benefits to the insured. It is intended for drivers with minimal family responsibilities and few assets to protect, such as their home or income from their job.
The insurance policy includes $5,000 in mandatory property damage coverage and $15,000 in personal injury protection. To clarify, this type of insurance policy does not protect you from being held liable for claims and lawsuits by people injured as a result of an accident that you have caused. Nor does it protect the insured from uninsured or underinsured drivers.
Moreover, this insurance policy severely limits your right to sue for any damages you may have suffered. Contact Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. for a Free Consultation to determine what rights you may or may not have.
Most drivers in New Jersey choose a standard insurance policy because it provides the state’s recommended level of coverage. The mandatory minimum bodily injury liability coverage is $15,000.
The mandatory minimum for property damage liability is $5,000. The mandatory minimum for personal injury protection is $15,000. Another choice that an insured driver using this type of insurance policy has to make is their right to sue.
In New Jersey, you are given the option of electing a right to sue versus a limitation of your right to sue (Verbal Threshold). At Greg Prosmushkin P.C., we have the knowledge and experience to help guide you through your choice of insurance and claims you need to make if you are harmed by a car accident.
Why Do I Need a Mercer County Car Accident Lawyer?
A person suffering damage from a car accident is first advised to seek medical attention. Then, we urge you to contact an attorney at Greg Prosmushkin, P.C., as soon as possible for a free consultation. New Jersey’s statute of limitations can prevent a claim for damages if it is begun after two years from the time of the injury.
As experienced attorneys, Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. fights to ensure that our clients receive the full extent of all insurance compensation available from your policy or the negligent party.
Our firm is experienced in dealing with insurance companies, investigating accidents, collecting evidence, contacting witnesses, and preparing legal documents to argue before the court.
In advocating for our clients, an attorney from Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. will establish the best case for a favorable outcome and the highest compensation for our injured client.
Regardless of the specific accident type, a car collision can have a profound and long-lasting effect on your life. You may suffer significant injuries that may force you to take a leave off of work for you to recover even permanently.
If you are suffering from traumatic injuries, you may need expensive surgeries or treatments for your injuries. You may also be experiencing psychological trauma from the crash, harming your ability to live your everyday life.
As one of the most-experienced accident firms in Philadelphia, you can trust that we will handle your case professionally and with your best interests at heart.