Do I Need a DUI Lawyer for a First-Time Offense?
Driving under the influence is a very serious criminal offense, despite how common they may seem, impaired driving puts the lives of many at risk of danger.
Depending on certain factors that were entailed in your DUI such as your blood-alcohol concentration, your criminal record, or whether anyone was Injured, you could be facing a significant jail sentence and costly fines. On top of that, you’re at risk of losing your driving privileges for a certain period of time.
People are often under the impression that a driving under the influence (DUI) charge is a simple Traffic issue, and that the penalties are not terribly significant.
They think that drinking and driving is an easy mistake to make, and as long as they didn’t hurt anyone, it’s no big deal. This impression is deeply mistaken. Pennsylvania treats DUI’s very seriously. In fact, unlike across the bridge in New Jersey, DUI’s are a Criminal Offense in the Commonwealth.
Even a first time DUI Offense can carry up to $5,000 in fines, up to 6 months imprisonment, and as much as 12 months license suspension.
When facing these types of penalties, you absolutely must retain an attorney, even if you are on the low end of these penalties, facing only a few hundred dollars in fines, mandatory alcohol highway safety school, and six months of probation. It’s quite serious, and you should retain counsel to defend your rights.
The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. offer free consultations where you can meet a Philadelphia DUI Attorney and discuss your case, and the options available to you.